One small step for you…one Giant Leap for Bunnies

Ever get soap in your eye? Like when you are washing your hair and some sneaks in. My gosh doesn’t that hurt? It stings right? Your eye gets all red, you try and put a cold cloth on it to stop the stinging. Not a fun feeling. Not something you would intentionally do to yourself right? What about, have you ever had a chemical reaction? Like accidently gotten bleajch on exposed skin, or some other harsh chemical. Again, with the stinging and the burning. Sometimes it requires medical attention and again, not something you would intentionally do to yourself, or your loved ones.

Would you do it him?e14cf42e-0a91-49ab-90bd-9e76e9bb32c3

No? (I hope you said no, because this is Moose..bun bun, boosh, Brownie, Thumper), I hope you said no.

According to Leapingbunny.org hundreds of thousands of animals (not just bunnies) are poisoned, blinded, and killed every year by cosmetic companies and household product companies, yes like your dish soap. It is sickening to think that any animal is being tested on; being tortured, just to give the world another shade of lipstick. It really actually makes me ill. I never wear makeup, so I figured I was already covered with buying products that didn’t harm animals. Little did I know that they test, laundry detergent, dish soap, toothpaste, and numerous other things on animals. Once I started looking around my house, I realized that about 90% of the products we use was made off the sacrifice of innocent creatures that had no voice of their own. I realized that I didn’t have to do that any more. I no longer have to buy these products because I have other choices available to me.

Now – I am not here to stand on my soap box and tell everyone that they have to buy cruility free or they are horrid wretched people. That isn’t right and it’s not true. I know by personal experience that sometimes this is hard to do. Nor am I going to say that these companies are evil, or tell you to boycott them, or anything of the sort. This isn’t going to turn into an activist blog. I understand that there are reasons why people can’t or won’t buy products that are cruelty free.

First off, money. When my son was born we LIVED on cheap food and cheap goods. I bought .50 pasta and ice cream that open incorrectly

(ask my husband he still has nightmaresicecream), I think 90% of the food and products (including diapers) we had in the house was generic. We couldn’t afford name brand, never mind organic, or specialty or anything fancy. I was on WIC for milk, formula and eggs, thank goodness for that program, and we used heating assistance. I know about money problems. I know them all too well. We still live pretty much paycheck to paycheck…but make the best choices we can. We no longer have to buy generic, we can now choose what to buy and how much of it to buy and where to buy from. I just want everyone reading this to that I know money issues. So when you think about it and think: “I would like to buy products that don’t test on animals, but I don’t have that kind of money”, I understand, but I am here to help. Here is what I use, around my house and not only do these products work, the are comparable to other name brand products. Now, if you are in a situation, where all you can afford is generic, I understand, but challenge you to buy one cruelty free item this month. Then one next month and so on and so on…if, for example you were to buy Mrs. Meyers Hand Soap one bottle, $3.99 today, next month Mrs. Meyers Dish Soap, and slowly start incorporating cruelty free products into your home. It may not happen overnight it didn’t at my house (and quiet frankly we are still working on it).

Second – for those who don’t have money issues, some people are brand nuts…I get that to. I love me some Tide laundry detergent, Crest toothpaste, etc. However, there are other companies that make detergents, toothpaste and other things comparable to these brands. Really. Natural doesn’t mean it won’t work. In fact, you may find that you are healthier using all natural products (which incidentally most cruelty free products tend to be.) For example. Toms of Maine Toothpaste, made with all natural ingredients, so you aren’t putting anything  harmful in your body and they don’t test on animals …so win-win.

Third – availability… walk into any super store and you are bombarded with name brand things, even when you look closer you see the stores brand of things. Entire rows of Suave shampoos, Clorox cleaning supplies. Thankfully, people are starting be more aware of what they are using both on their bodies and in their homes, so a lot of greener companies have really started to break out. Method and Mrs. Meyers to name two off the top of my head that are both comparable to the harsher counterparts and within the same price range. Sometimes you have to look around. That is hard too, you have a kid (or two or more), you have a list and you are struggling to get out of the store with your sanity.shopping-cartoon11 You are clutching your 20 ounce coffee, pushing the cart with one hand, yelling at your child to please for the love all that is reasonable, stop undressing the manikins. So searching for that teeny, tiny symbol:veganandcrueltyfreemay seem like more than you can stand…and again, I understand. So again, I am here to say  – make a game plan.

If you are like me you make list. If you are like me that is list is half complete, and you end up with more than what was on the list, and you always forget something. Alas, we try right? So you make a list, you say you need dish soap. Well instead of getting Dawn dish soap this week why not tried Method or Mrs. Meyers. I plan on trying Method next time I run out, but I can attest to the quality of Mrs. Meyers (and the lavender scented one is awesome). There. Done…that is your one cruelty free product this trip, And the bunnies thank you!IMG_3774

 

Again, it doesn’t happen overnight. I would never suggest anyone go through their house and throw out all the goods they have and buy new ones. That is insane. I would never suggest someone go without something just to afford one of the products, again that is absurd. It’s about making a conscious effort to make changes in the way you shop and the way you think. If you can afford to buy name brand, why not just try a different brand? You might find yourself surprised. If you can’t afford name brand things, try to incorporate one thing into the household, maybe one thing you use the most, like dish soap. I still have products that were probably tested on animals in my house, you know what, when those products run out, I am making an effort to only buy ones that were not made at the sacrifice of animals. A while ago I bought bathroom cleaner, scrubbing bubbles or something, those guys always look so happy, scrubbing away making your bathroom all shiny. They test on animals. Why they feel the need to test bathroom cleaner, on a bunny, is beyond me. Seriously. So I will be buying Method Bathroom Cleaner on Amazon for $2.99. Can’t beat that price honestly. Compared to what I had, Scrubbing Bubbles Bathroom Cleanser $5.23. Even buying at my local Target store, $3.99 compared to $2.89. Not that big of a difference in my book. Run out of my beloved Pantene hair care…(this is where life gets hard and again, I empathize with all) I will be trying Burts Bees. Worst thing, it doesn’t work and I have to try something else. Best thing, it works, and now I have an amazing hair care product that I can feel good about. Here are some companies that I found that don’t test on animals, whose products work, and whose prices are the same, better or just a tad bit more than many name brand products on the market.

Burts Bees
Method
Mrs. Meyers
The Body Shop
Toms of Maine

If you go to: leapingbunny.org you can actually do a search for companies to see if they test on animals, and you can search for products, for example, you need deodorant but don’t want to sift through hundreds of companies that might not even have products in your area, just type the product you need to buy, and it will give you a list of companies that make that product and you can see if you can find it in your local area or online.

I am not trying to turn into an activist, you won’t be seeing “save the bunnies” all over my facebook and twitter feeds. I just believe that testing on animals is wrong and encourage anyone who can and is willing to consider making a change in their every day purchases. Maybe someday no animal will be tested on, just so people can have a thicker mascara.

IMG_3528

 

*Apps: bunny free (you can search the company to see if they test on animals.

Cruelty free (I currently use this one you can search products or companies )

*websites

http://www.leapingbunny.org

 

 

3 thoughts on “One small step for you…one Giant Leap for Bunnies

  1. I am all for saving the fuzzy animals and what not and I support you in your campaign.

    My only comment is I heard that PETA isn’t the best source for animal rights? I don’t remember the exact person who told me this (so I will willingly withdraw any comments if I am proven wrong) But I heard that PETA had kill shelters. And I also heard that they’re extreme to the point of irrational? I’ll do some more research.

    • I knew I was going to get this. 🙂 I was using them for statistics. Im not in anyway associated with them, nor do I believe in all of their practices. I’m not s vegan and believe if people want to eat bacon than all the power to them. Again, this is and was always about unnecessary cruelty to animals.

      • I get you.

        Also for people looking for a line of skin lotions etc. Caldrea is awesome (uses all natural ingredients and fragrance) and it’s not tested on animals! 😀 (may I recommended the Hibiscus Yuzu)

Leave a Reply

