The giant Alteration

They call it an alteration when your bunny goes in to get neutered. Makes it sound like he is going in to have his ears done or fur colored. “Just a little off the top my good chap and lets go with ruby red this month, I have my eye on Holland Hop down the way.” Just call it what it is…bunny is getting snipped. Neutered. Chopped. I personally scoured the web for ages and ages, went on tons of bunny forums, asked bunny owners about their opinions on bunny alteration. Mostly, it is agreed that once they reach maturity, it is in their best interest to do it. After all you wouldn’t hesitate to do it for a dog or cat. The reason I was hesitant about doing it, is because I read that rabbits are more nervous than other animals, and have a harder time with vets in general. Being put under and going through the procedure can cause them serious harm and even death. (via heart attack) So I figured, heck, let’s just not do it. I would rather have a…rambunctious bunny then a dead one. Then he started nipping. Well okay…time for the vet. Again…

The day of the…operation…we didn’t let him out of his cage in the morning like we normally would have. He was obviously confused and frustrated and I think was starting to realize that today wasn’t going to be a normal day. When it came time to put him in his carrier he got very upset. Getting him into his cage was like wrangling with…well like wrangling with a scared bunny. If you have never done it then imagine shoving one of nature’s most skittish creatures into a box. Make sure that creature has sharp claws too…that is important and really powerful hind legs. Finally, buns is in the box…and he is PISSED and FREAKING out! The whole box is shaking (it is at this point when I realize that we will soon need a bigger box), and I am feeling just awful. It doesn’t matter if you know what you are doing is for the best, when it is your fur baby and they are distressed you feel bad.
image

To the vet: the whole time I talking to him, playing soothing music, no Rise Against this morning, instead it is over the rainbow, very smooth drive in and now we wait in a room full of predators. I don’t know if bunnies can sense that there are animals higher on the food chain then they are nearby or not…I think they can. Nor do I know if dogs can sense that there is an animal that they could eat if times were tough…I just don’t know…but I think so. Needless to say Buns wasn’t happy about being at the Vet either. We get into the room and the Vet and the Vet tech, who are super friendly, look him over, yep he is a male alright (thanks I gathered that), check his heart and lungs make sure he is healthy enough for the anesthesia. Then it’s back into his carrier. At this point, it is comical, because he hated the vet and everything to do with the table, but once the vet calmed him down a bit he wanted nothing to do with his carrier again. I, for the millionth time, wish I could communicate with him and tell him it was all going to be okay. Now it was time for me to leave. The operation would take place later on in the day and I would be able to pick him up in the afternoon. I would have a whole day of waiting to see if my bunny would be okay. Being worried is an understatement.
Anyone who has had something on their mind knows how hard it is to concentrate on anything else. Working was a challenge. All day I waited for my phone to ring to hear something went wrong or even it all went okay come, pick him up. The longer the phone stayed quiet, the more anxious I got.

I finally got the call at 3:00pm! Buns was doing great and ready to come home. I have never in my life seen Cody put his shoes on so fast. We were out the door in less the two minutes and at the vet in five. I was so happy to see Buns alive and well! “No I am not crying I am allergic to cats and there are four of them in here!”

When we got home I tried to make him as comfortable as possible. All he wanted to do was retreat under our bed, where he remained for most of the afternoon and evening. I feel like this will be his go-to place after a vet visit.
image
He was a little groggy and not quite himself all evening, eating very little and drinking just a little…but all in all seemed okay.
image – wiping the tears from his eyes!!
The real test was the morning, how would he be. Happy to say, when I let him of his cage he was right back to normal! Just as frisky even! Bun Bun is back! image

Some things about the procedure and aftercare:
*They used surgical glue that he can’t chew…if you are getting your bunny fixed, I would see if that is what they are doing and if they can.
*Because he is a bunny there was no need to fast before the operation. Unlike a dog or cat, Rabbits can’t vomit, so there is no fear of that happening during the procedure. In fact it was encouraged that he eats a little. It would help his recovery time.
*It is important that they drink a lot of water following the operation so make sure they have plenty both in a bowl and in a bottle.
*It is important they eat to. They might not want to eat as much as they normally do, but it is important they are eating.
*Check around the incision site to make sure it is not infected. (Unlikely but to be safe).
*The cost for me (living in one of the most EXPENSIVE towns in the world) was $190.00 though it should have been $250.00 – we got a discount. Just to give you an estimate on what to expect. I can’t imagine it being more expensive anywhere else.

So that was our giant alteration…and goes to show you…things you worry about…tend to never happen. So stop worrying so much! Live life like a bunny…chill!image

Leave a Reply

